Skip to main content

Jan Boxill, senior lecturer of philosophy, director of the Parr Center for Ethics and former associate chair of the Department of Philosophy, has been elected chair of the faculty at Carolina.

She will succeed McKay Coble on July 1 and serve a three-year term.

Boxill, who has been at UNC since 1985, is an award-winning faculty member whose writing and teaching focuses on ethics, social and political philosophy, feminist theory and ethics in sports. She has received the Tanner Award for Undergraduate Teaching, an Institute for the Arts and Humanities Parr Ethics Fellowship, the Mary Turner Lane Award, the Women’s Advocacy Award and the Excellence in Advising Award.

Boxill is editor of “Sports Ethics: An Anthology” and “Issues in Race and Gender” and is past president of the International Association for Philosophy in Sport. She chairs both the 2011 NCAA Scholarly Colloquium and the Education Outreach Program for the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency.

At Carolina, she has coordinated the IAH Ethics Fellowship Program, chaired the University Teaching Awards Committee and served on the Faculty Council and its Agenda Committee, the Fixed-Term Faculty Committee, the Committee on the Status of Women, the faculty Nominating Committee and the Chancellor’s Advisory Committee.

This year, 1,320 faculty members – 37.3 percent of those eligible – voted in the faculty elections, marking the highest turnout rate since 1997. To see the full elections results, refer to