Skip to main content

In recognition of their “unusual, meritorious or superior contributions,” Chancellor Carol L. Folt selected six Carolina employees to receive 2015 C. Knox Massey Distinguished Service Awards, one of the most coveted distinctions earned by faculty and staff.

The late C. Knox Massey of Durham created the awards in 1980, and in 1984, joined the families of his son, Knox Massey Jr., and daughter, Kay Massey Weatherspoon, in creating the Massey-Weatherspoon fund. Income from the fund supports the Massey Awards and Carolina Seminars.

Chosen from campus-wide nominations, the Massey Award recipients will be honored at a luncheon hosted by Folt on April 25. Each will receive a $7,500 stipend and an award citation. This year’s recipients are:

  • Faydene Alston, a housekeeper assigned to Kenan-Flagler Business School;
  • Claudio Battaglini, associate professor, Exercise and Sports Science;
  • Ma Charina Brooks, a housekeeper assigned to Grimes residence hall;
  • DeVetta Holman Nash, assistant director, Student Wellness Services;
  • Christopher Payne, associate vice chancellor and senior operating Officer, Student Affairs; and
  • James Spurling, director of Kenan Stadium and Football Facility, Athletics.

For more on the recipients, please see the University Gazette.

Published April 15, 2015.