Skip to main content

Six employees have been selected by Chancellor Holden Thorp to receive 2012 C. Knox Massey Distinguished Service Awards, one of the most coveted distinctions the University gives faculty and staff.

The late C. Knox Massey of Durham created the awards in 1980 to recognize “unusual, meritorious or superior contributions” by University employees. In 1984, he joined the families of his son, Knox Massey Jr., and daughter, Kay Massey Weatherspoon, in creating the Massey-Weatherspoon fund. Income from the fund supports the Massey Awards and Carolina Seminars.

Thorp will honor the recipients, who were chosen from nominations from the campus community, at an awards luncheon on April 28. Each will receive a $6,000 stipend and an award citation.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Matthew Brody, associate vice chancellor for Human Resources;
  • Herbert Lee Davis Jr., retired associate director of Undergraduate Admissions;
  • Mary E. Napier, research associate professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics and member of the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center;
  • Jackie Overton, professional development manager in the Department of Public Safety;
  • Teretha Diane Rone, housekeeper in Facilities Services, who works in the School of Government; and
  • Barbara Stenross, senior assistant dean in the Academic Advising Program.

Read more.

Published March 28, 2012.