Skip to main content

Chancellor Folt announced in an email message to campus that Kevin Seitz will serve as interim vice chancellor for finance and administration beginning October 1.

Karol Kain Gray, who previously held the post, is returning to her home state of New York to begin a career in the private sector.

“I am grateful to have such a capable leader in charge of the University’s finance and administration operations,” said Folt.

For the past three years as Carolina’s associate vice chancellor for finance, Seitz has been an excellent steward of the University’s financial resources. He played a key role in the Budget Committee’s resource allocation process, oversaw Carolina’s treasury functions and worked closely with financial leaders at UNC General Administration and the state’s Division of Fiscal Research. He was instrumental in helping Kain Gray make necessary changes in the Division of Finance and Administration in the past year.

“Carolina is benefiting from Kevin’s nearly 40 years of experience in finance and administration, all within higher education,” Folt said in the September 20 message. “In addition to his work here, Kevin spent 31 years at the State University of New York at Buffalo, where he was vice president for university services after serving as controller and director of administrative computing, and five years as East Carolina’s chief financial officer. There, he was head of many of the same finance and administration functions he will assume on an interim basis here.”

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost James W. Dean Jr. will chair the search committee seeking to identify Gray’s successor.f

In addition to Dean, the members are Brenda Malone, vice chancellor for human resources and interim director of the Equal Opportunity/ADA Office; Bill Roper, vice chancellor for medical affairs, chief executive officer of the UNC Health Care system; and dean of the School of Medicine; Steve Lerner, a member of the University’s Board of Trustees; Charles Streeter, chair of the Employee Forum; Evelyne Huber, chair, Department of Political Science and Distinguished Professor; Mary Beth Koza, director, Office of Environment, Health and Safety; Dave Stevens, associate dean of finance and operations, Kenan-Flagler Business School; and Jonathon King, president and chief executive officer, UNC Management Co. Inc.

Published September 20, 2013; updated September 23, 2013.