Skip to main content

Wade H. Hargrove of Raleigh, a corporate and national media lawyer and partner with Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard LLP, was elected chairman of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees on July 27.

Hargrove was appointed in 2009 to the Board of Trustees, a 13-member board responsible for governing the University. He has been a member of its Buildings and Grounds Committee.

“Serving the Board of Trustees as chair is an important responsibility and a great honor,” Hargrove said. “I look forward to working with the trustees, the administration, faculty, students and alumni to do all we can to assure that the University fulfills its mission of teaching, research and public service even as we – as do other public and private institutions – face significant economic challenges.”

Also taking the oath of office as new members were W. Lowry Caudill of Durham, co-founder of Magellan Laboratories and retired president of Pharmaceutical Development for Cardinal Health, and Steven J. Lerner of Chapel Hill, founder and chairman of the Board of Directors of both Capstrat and FGI and managing partner of the Blue Hill Group. Caudill was appointed by the 17-campus UNC system’s Board of Governors. Lerner was appointed by Gov. Beverly Perdue, who will make a second appointment to the board at a later date. Mary Cooper, a senior from Nashville, Tenn., was sworn in as a new trustee May 25 to fill the ex-officio seat held by the student body president.


UNC Board of Trustees members are sworn in July 27, 2011: left to right, Steven J. Lerner, Sallie Shuping-Russell, W. Lowry Caudill, Alston Gardner and Phillip L. Clay. Willis Whichard, associate justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court and UNC alumnus, delivers the oath.

As a student at UNC, Hargrove was a Jefferson Standard Foundation and Alumni Scholar. He was active in student government and was initiated into the Order of the Golden Fleece. He earned his bachelor’s degree with honors in 1962 and a UNC law degree three years later. A former member of the University’s Board of Visitors and the School of Journalism and Mass Communications Board of Visitors, Hargrove served on the advisory committee of the Center for Media Law and Policy and the General Alumni Association Board of Directors. For the School of Law, he served as alumni association president.

Hargrove was the driving force behind the UNC Center for Media Law and Policy, a national forum for the media industry, legal scholars and practitioners to discuss emerging issues at the intersection of media and law. The center is a collaboration of the UNC journalism and law schools. In 2009, he was honored with the establishment of an annual media law colloquium at Carolina that was named for him.

Caudill earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry at UNC in 1979 and a doctorate in analytical chemistry at Indiana University in 1983. He returned to North Carolina as one of the two scientists who created Magellan Laboratories, a pharmaceutical development company based in Research Triangle Park. An active entrepreneur and supporter of entrepreneurial endeavors, Caudill is chair of the Chancellor’s Innovation Circle. That group’s work resulted in the Innovate@Carolina Roadmap, a plan launched in 2010 to help Carolina become a world leader in launching university-born ideas for the good of society.

Read more.

Published July 27, 2011.