Skip to main content

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill will honor eight leaders in journalism and strategic communication Oct. 10.

The 2014 N.C. Halls of Fame inductee class:

  • Harry Amana, UNC professor emeritus, first black UNC journalism professor (journalism)
  • Jim Heavner, VilCom owner and chief executive officer (journalism)
  • Walter Hussman, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette publisher (journalism)
  • Chris Matthews, MSNBC Hardball host (journalism)
  • Susan Credle, Leo Burnett chief creative officer (advertising)
  • Julie Dixon, GOLIN deputy managing director (public relations)
  • Kim Stone, executive vice president and general manager for the Miami Heat’s American Airlines Arena (public relations)
  • Allen Mask, Google Play associate brand manager, recording artist (next generation leadership)

The Halls of Fame are based in the UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication. They honor individuals who have made outstanding, career-long contributions to their fields. Honorees must be native North Carolinians or otherwise identified with the state.

By Kyle York, Journalism and Mass Communication

Published: October 8, 2013